Brauwerkstatt Deutsch

Gluten-free beer

Term from the Brauwerkstatt brewing glossary, category “Beer styles”.

Explanation

Beer for people who cannot tolerate gluten. It is either brewed from gluten-free grains such as millet, sorghum, rice or buckwheat, or from barley malt whose gluten is broken down by an enzyme during fermentation. In the EU it may be labelled “gluten-free” if it contains at most 20 mg of gluten per kilogram.

All terms in “Beer styles” · Brewing glossary

Open in the Brauwerkstatt glossary