Gluten-free beer
Term from the Brauwerkstatt brewing glossary, category “Beer styles”.
Explanation
Beer for people who cannot tolerate gluten. It is either brewed from gluten-free grains such as millet, sorghum, rice or buckwheat, or from barley malt whose gluten is broken down by an enzyme during fermentation. In the EU it may be labelled “gluten-free” if it contains at most 20 mg of gluten per kilogram.